Nominations Period Open for the Jacqueline B. Nixon Community Service Award

Marcia Gipstein with Award

2017 Jacqueline B. Nixon Community Service Award winner Marcia R. Gipstein.

Groton Utilities has announced that it is accepting nominations for the fifteenth annual Jacqueline B. Nixon Community Service Award.   The purpose of the award is to honor a member of the community who has contributed his or her time, energy and resources to make the community a better place in which to live and work.

Persons eligible for the award must live in Greater Groton, which encompasses the City, the Town, and any of the subdivisions or fire districts.  The person should exemplify all the qualities suggested by Groton Utilities’ slogan of “Giving back to the community.”

Groton Utilities will present the award to the winner of the fifthteenth annual Jacqueline B. Nixon Community Service Award during City of Groton Day 2018 on August 3 at Washington Park.

Groton Utilities named the award, The Jacqueline B. Nixon Community Service Award, to commemorate Mrs. Nixon’s service to her community. Jackie, as she was known to most, operated a food pantry in her residence for 24 years.  She distributed food on a regular basis to many needy families.  Jackie passed away July 6, 2004 after a brief battle with cancer.

Like Jackie, the nominee’s contributions to the community should make other citizens describe the nominee as generous, committed, and other similar admirable qualities, which exemplify “service.”

The closing date for nominations is Friday, June 29, 2018.  Applications may be obtained at the Groton Utilities Customer Care Center at the City of Groton Municipal Building at 295 Meridian Street or by clicking the link below.

Community Service Award Nomination Form

In addition, you can call our Customer Care Center at 860-446-4000 and request that an application be mailed to you.

Earle A. Williams was the recipient of the first Jacqueline B. Nixon Community Service Award.  Other winners were Robert “Bob” Leeney, E. Marion “Mimi” Orkney, Lillian “Lil” Hansen, Sarah Stanley, William “Bill” Welsh, Jr., Alfred “Al” Restivo, Robert “Bob” Austin LaFrance; Archie C. Swindell, Milly Carlson, Lian Obrey, James “Jim” Streeter, Charlie Ebbinghaus, and Marcia R. Gipstein.

This entry was posted in News.

Comments are closed.